In which Galahad is a Very Brave Pony

As Galahad and I went out the other morning I noticed my neighbour’s newspaper waiting at the bottom of the lane. I normally take it up if we have time to get as far as her house so we collected it and went on our way.  We were having a lovely ride and enjoying ourselves very much.  I could hear a saw somewhere but it wasn’t bothering us and I didn’t really think very much about it.

Until we got to the top of the hill.  The postbox is inside a barn.  In the doorway was a tractor with a belt running from it into the barn and powering the saw.  It was all suddenly rather noisy!

I clearly couldn’t get into the barn and I was a bit reluctant to take Galahad through the garden to the front door.  In future I will try to remember to take a headcollar and leadrope with me – then at least I could tie him up.  Luckily, as I stood dithering my neighbour saw me and came out to fetch the paper.  She was very impressed with Galahad  and kept saying how brave he was (he was behaving very well and we were only a few feet from the tractor and saw).

20160227_080253

A Very Brave Pony 

It wasn’t until afterwards that it occurred to me that I had just led him past the tractor without really thinking about it.  A year or two ago I would have been worrying about his reaction to all the noise but now I just assume that he will be okay.  Obviously I am still alert to the possibility of spooking but it shows that he really has improved.  Brave Pony indeed!

3 thoughts on “In which Galahad is a Very Brave Pony

Leave a Reply

