Practising our Ditches

We have still been working on ‘ditches’ or water trays this week.  I needed to be able to ride over them but as I am still only able to ride a couple of times a week at the moment our practise opportunities have been few!

I took full advantage of them though – every time I rode I got out the ditches too.  We have had so much rain in the past week that the fields are now rather slippery so I resorted to schooling ditches in the lane.

First I led him over the ditch again.  Of course, this time he caught the edge of the tray with his foot so the other side lifted and spooked him.  I was worried it would send us right back where we started but luckily he got over it.

20170202_102013

Once I was mounted I started off as I did in hand by riding between the two trays.  That gave us no problem at all so I pushed them together and tried again.  He walked straight over them.

20170202_102224

We repeated the exercise successfully next time I rode and hopefully we have cracked it.  Of course, it is one thing to do it at home and something entirely different when we are out at a competition!

Leave a Reply

